2015 Planning

On January 1st I used the lazy day to start planning the new garden. Some of the old reliable plants sowed from seeds collected in Fall and some new varieties sowed from seeds purchased from High Mowing Organic Seeds in Vermont. Some of my selections are currently on back order so I haven’t placed my order quite yet.

Planning usually starts with a doodle. (Though, I couldn’t find a 2014 doodle.)

IMG_0222

IMG_0223

IMG_0224

A couple friends and I decided to join forces and practice a little cooperative gardening. We’ll each plant a few things different and share the bounty. It’s not a streamlined process this first year so I’ll still grow my standards.

In no particular order:

  • Strawberries
  • Onion Chive
  • Garlic Chive
  • Snow Peas
  • Lettuces
  • Radish
  • Carrots
  • Beans
  • Zucchini
  • Summer Squash
  • Pickling Cucumbers
  • Swiss Chard
  • Kale
  • Delicata Squash
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Raspberries
  • Cabbage
  • Spaghetti Squash
  • Turnips
  • Beets
  • Mustard Greens
  • Cauliflower
  • Watermelon
  • Pumpkins
  • Garlic
  • Broccoli
  • Grapes
  • Chamomile
  • Oregano
  • Hot Oregano
  • Thyme
  • Parsley
  • Cilantro
  • Chocolate Mint
  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Nasturtium
  • Dill
  • Chrysanthemum
  • Marigold
  • Pyrethrum Daisy
  • Daylily
  • Morning Glory
  • Tulips
  • Hyacinth
  • Snow Drops
  • Hosta
  • Crocus
  • Montaux Daisy
  • Snap Dragons
  • Iris
  • Blackeyed Susan
  • Sunflowers

More planning of the current beds and where hydration is available:

IMG_0226

A few new varieties I’ll try this season from High Mowing Organic Seeds:

  • Delicata Squash
  • Winter Density Lettuce
  • Sweet Chocolate Bell Pepper
  • Ancho Poblano
  • Gherkin
  • Magnifienza Canteloupe
  • Bangles Mini Bell Pepper

Most of the posts this season will be picture and video since I learned last season that my production life didn’t allow much time for keeping a journal. I still have hundreds of pictures from seasons past that I’ve yet to post so I expect to run out of space here at my WordPress home and be moving to where I host my other site, Fatcow. (Fatcow is a greener solution for your website and is 100% powered by the wind. Kinda cool.)

EAT MY PLANTS!

Leave a Reply

